University of

The University of Essex was established in 1963, spread over three campuses in Colchester, Southend and Loughton. The university’s main campus is in Colchester and is minutes away from Wivenhoe Park, home to a wide range of plants and wildlife.

One third of the almost 12,000 full time students come from over 140 countries to study at the university. University of Essex is organised into three faculties: humanities, science and health and social science. Within these three faculties there are 20 different schools and departments.

In 2022 the university was ranked 27th in the Complete University Guide.

27 Magdalen Street just a 20 minute bus ride or 10 minute cycle away from campus.

Our awards.
All dedicated to you.

We’re proud to have won some awards. But hopefully they mean something to you too. Because the Global Student Living Index only recognises accommodation based on real student experiences. So the people voting are the ones who live with us. Which means you can pick your Host student home with confidence.